Welcome to theMikMik!

We are a friendly community of Android custom Roms developers and users. If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the forum rules. You will need to register before you can post, and as a registered user you will also see fewer advertisements. Join us now to become a part of one of the most helpful Android community online and get the max from your phone!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0

    Can we flash over the old ROM?

    Do we need to do a full wipe or can we just clear dalvik and cache and then flash this?

  2. #2
    Moderator coiledwire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1,545
    Thanks
    89

    Re: Can we flash over the old ROM?

    If you're not already on 1.02 and plan on using the update zip for 1.02 > 1.03, then a full wipe is recommended with amon ra recovery.

    Sent on the go, from my evo.
    Do you want to know more about kernels?

    TEAM MiK EVO 4G hw003
    MikROMs Since 2/12/11


    Baseband: 2.15.00.08.08
    PRI/NV: 2.15_003
    Recovery: Amon_Ra v2.3 (Haus Mod RevA)
    Kernel: lithid-cm's Freedom GB (Sense)


    If you like what I've done, hit the "thanks" button!

    Feeling generous?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to coiledwire For This Useful Post:       Show/Hide
    unreconstructed (05-04-2013)
  4. #3
    Developer steal25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, California
    Posts
    639
    Thanks
    182

    Re: Can we flash over the old ROM?

    I don't reccomend "just flashing over the ROM" with MIK roms the updates are usually rebuilt rather that just updated.
    What I reccommend for flashing this or any ROM is
    1. Make a nand back up of your present set up.
    2. WIPE EVERYTHING I wipe in this order: CACHE-DALVIC-BOOT-SYSTEM-SDCARD:.android_secure
    DATA-SDCARD:EXT, Then I wipe ALL userdata/factory reset, I do all of these twice, some do it only once some as much as 3Xs WIPE EVERYTHING EXCEPT SDCARD
    3. Flash MIKG (or rom of your choosing)
    4.Flash custom kernel
    5.reboot(first boot may take upto 10 mins) MIKG reboots twice on first boot(this is not a bootloop)
    6.Before you do anything let ROM settle in for about 10 mins., after about 10 mins. unlock lockscreen
    7. skip through initial set up, don't set up any accts. yet and check and make sure everything installed(since you did not sign into google, google apps will not be present, this is normal.
    8. Reboot into recovery, wipe CACHE and DALVIC-CACHE and reboot phone
    9. Now go ahead and sign into all your accounts and set up google and all that good stuff, this time around all google apps(yes this includes the market) should be present
    10. Open market install apps if you use TI back up DON'T restore system apps or or data for any app, just restore the app.
    I know it seems like the long way to do it but doing it this way has ensured me flawless transitions for ROM to ROM or version to version.
    I use Amon-RA recovery and these are steps I do every time I just started doing steps 6,7 and 8 after reading lowetaxes way of flashing new ROMs and it's something I'll be doing from now on.If you have issues read and search I'm sure its been dealt with and solved and you don't have to wait for an answer.Hope this helps!!

  5. The Following 27 Users Say Thank You to steal25 For This Useful Post:       Show/Hide
    atljatl (03-08-2012), Baze (01-06-2012), bigrcee (12-06-2011), bjkokenos (03-18-2012), bw75 (12-17-2011), caradineme2 (12-06-2011), CharonQQ (01-26-2012), crichtonguy (03-05-2012), Cuetzpallin (10-23-2011), Darealboot (11-27-2011), dneese123 (09-22-2011), drewsifer (03-14-2012), EL_GUAPO48 (09-08-2011), EvoNo0B (10-06-2012), GBLOCK51 (02-02-2012), jetlag7 (07-31-2013), jojo4444 (11-20-2012), Karmakid64 (02-20-2012), Lucascain (05-18-2012), miktest (04-13-2012), Pandora26 (03-17-2012), prboy1969 (09-18-2011), rascaldoc (01-19-2012), restlessnative (09-28-2012), Romeroman64 (01-31-2013), ruckstande (03-02-2012), screwie (11-05-2011)
  6. #4
    Administrator nick1313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Columbia MO
    Posts
    16,502
    Thanks
    3,379

    Re: Can we flash over the old ROM?

    A huge +1 to all that.

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
    You like my work? Be sure to hit the thanks button or if you feel so inclined you can
    * Phone Details
    Phone: HTC One M8
    Hardware: ???
    HBoot: ???
    Baseband: ???
    PRI: ???
    Recovery: ???
    Kernel: ???
    ROM: ???
    Theme: ???
    64gb class 10


    TEAM MiK
    MikROMs Since Since 1/30/11

  7. #5
    Administrator jadeboy7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    25,348
    Thanks
    3,265

    Re: Can we flash over the old ROM?

    Quote Originally Posted by steal25
    I don't reccomend "just flashing over the ROM" with MIK roms the updates are usually rebuilt rather that just updated.
    What I reccommend for flashing this or any ROM is
    1. Make a nand back up of your present set up.
    2. WIPE EVERYTHING I wipe in this order: CACHE-DALVIC-BOOT-SYSTEM-SDCARD:.android_secure
    DATA-SDCARD:EXT, Then I wipe ALL userdata/factory reset, I do all of these twice, some do it only once some as much as 3Xs WIPE EVERYTHING EXCEPT SDCARD
    3. Flash MIKG (or rom of your choosing)
    4.Flash custom kernel(as of now their are no custom kernels for GB roms)
    5.reboot(first boot may take upto 10 mins) MIKG reboots twice on first boot(this is not a bootloop)
    6.Before you do anything let ROM settle in for about 10 mins., after about 10 mins. unlock lockscreen
    7. skip through initial set up, don't set up any accts. yet and check and make sure everything installed(since you did not sign into google, google apps will not be present, this is normal.
    8. Reboot into recovery, wipe CACHE and DALVIC-CACHE and reboot phone
    9. Now go ahead and sign into all your accounts and set up google and all that good stuff, this time around all google apps(yes this includes the market) should be present
    10. Open market install apps if you use TI back up DON'T restore system apps or or data for any app, just restore the app.
    I know it seems like the long way to do it but doing it this way has ensured me flawless transitions for ROM to ROM or version to version.
    I use Amon-RA recovery and these are steps I do every time I just started doing steps 6,7 and 8 after reading lowetaxes way of flashing new ROMs and it's something I'll be doing from now on.If you have issues read and search I'm sure its been dealt with and solved and you don't have to wait for an answer.Hope this helps!!
    ^^^^^ This .

    Edit: Added a link in my list of guides and tutorials thread.
    Have a problem? Look here first (work in progress)

    *Please press Thanks if I've helped you out*
    * Click Here for My Phone Info
    Phone: HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 4G LTE T-Mobile HTC One (M8)
    Hardware: 0003 0003 0005
    HBoot: 0.93.0000 1.12.2222 3.16.0.0000
    Baseband: 2.15.00.11.19 1.12.11.0809 1.14.21331931.LA02_2G_20.30A.4145.01L
    ROM: MikG 3.11 NikLaTtE V3.01 Stock (1.12.531.19)
    Kernel: AnthraX Build 0004 Stock JB ElementalX-m8-0.9-Sense
    Recovery: Amon_RA 2.3 TWRP 2.3.3.0 TWRP 2.7.0.2
    SD Card: None None Samsung 32GB Class 10 MicroSDHC
    Battery: Sprint 2600 mAh Built-in 2000 mAh Built-in 2600 mAh
    My Box folder: http://www.box.com/s/7m44xjv3b8rbgpy7vzjb
    My MediaFire folder: http://www.mediafire.com/jadeboy7


    TEAM MiK
    MikROMs Since 1/7/11
    Want your own Team Mik logo for your signature? Look here!
    Have I helped you? Consider helping me:

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to jadeboy7 For This Useful Post:       Show/Hide
    Lucascain (05-18-2012)
  9. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0

    Re: Can we flash over the old ROM?

    10. Open market install apps if you use TI back up DON'T restore system apps or or data for any app, just restore the app.
    I know it seems like the long way to do it but doing it this way has ensured me flawless transitions for ROM to ROM or version to version.

    When and how do I restore DATA for APPS?

    Thanks

  10. #7
    Administrator jadeboy7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    25,348
    Thanks
    3,265

    Re: Re: Can we flash over the old ROM?

    Quote Originally Posted by 321contak
    10. Open market install apps if you use TI back up DON'T restore system apps or or data for any app, just restore the app.
    I know it seems like the long way to do it but doing it this way has ensured me flawless transitions for ROM to ROM or version to version.

    When and how do I restore DATA for APPS?

    Thanks
    If possible, it's better not to restore any data. If you must, you can restore user app data ONLY, and I guess just do it at the end.

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
    Have a problem? Look here first (work in progress)

    *Please press Thanks if I've helped you out*
    * Click Here for My Phone Info
    Phone: HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 4G LTE T-Mobile HTC One (M8)
    Hardware: 0003 0003 0005
    HBoot: 0.93.0000 1.12.2222 3.16.0.0000
    Baseband: 2.15.00.11.19 1.12.11.0809 1.14.21331931.LA02_2G_20.30A.4145.01L
    ROM: MikG 3.11 NikLaTtE V3.01 Stock (1.12.531.19)
    Kernel: AnthraX Build 0004 Stock JB ElementalX-m8-0.9-Sense
    Recovery: Amon_RA 2.3 TWRP 2.3.3.0 TWRP 2.7.0.2
    SD Card: None None Samsung 32GB Class 10 MicroSDHC
    Battery: Sprint 2600 mAh Built-in 2000 mAh Built-in 2600 mAh
    My Box folder: http://www.box.com/s/7m44xjv3b8rbgpy7vzjb
    My MediaFire folder: http://www.mediafire.com/jadeboy7


    TEAM MiK
    MikROMs Since 1/7/11
    Want your own Team Mik logo for your signature? Look here!
    Have I helped you? Consider helping me:

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to jadeboy7 For This Useful Post:       Show/Hide
    joe928 (10-12-2011)
  12. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    148
    Thanks
    8

    Re: Can we flash over the old ROM?

    Just wondering if the 'don't restore data via Titanium' comment is due to something inherent within MikG's updating from a Froyo ROM the first time, or do you just recommend that as a general rule?

    I've always restored USER app data using titanium between MikFroyo versions without a problem. After all if you don't use it to restore apps or data... ummm why have it? (Note, never restore system data.. that's just asking for problems in my experience)

    If it's something with MikG/Gingerbread then I've got a LOT of settings to copy down .

  13. #9
    Administrator nick1313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Columbia MO
    Posts
    16,502
    Thanks
    3,379

    Re: Can we flash over the old ROM?

    Quote Originally Posted by DroidGnome
    Just wondering if the 'don't restore data via Titanium' comment is due to something inherent within MikG's updating from a Froyo ROM the first time, or do you just recommend that as a general rule?

    I've always restored USER app data using titanium between MikFroyo versions without a problem. After all if you don't use it to restore apps or data... ummm why have it? (Note, never restore system data.. that's just asking for problems in my experience)

    If it's something with MikG/Gingerbread then I've got a LOT of settings to copy down .
    You can do it, but as a general rule it's not a great idea. Just nand before you do it and give it a shot. If it messes up you might try to restore one at a time.
    You like my work? Be sure to hit the thanks button or if you feel so inclined you can
    * Phone Details
    Phone: HTC One M8
    Hardware: ???
    HBoot: ???
    Baseband: ???
    PRI: ???
    Recovery: ???
    Kernel: ???
    ROM: ???
    Theme: ???
    64gb class 10


    TEAM MiK
    MikROMs Since Since 1/30/11

  14. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0

    Re: Can we flash over the old ROM?

    I apologize for the newb question. You say:
    3. Flash MIKG
    4. Flash custom kernel.
    Is step 4 optional? Also, How does this work I'm not quite understanding the relationship between ROMs and Kernels. Wouldn't flashing a custom kernel mess up the ROM or something?

    thanks,
    Android: 2.3.3
    Sense: 2.1
    Software: 4.24.651.1
    Baseband: 2.15.00.09.01
    Build: MikG - Sense 2.1 + 3.0 - v2.45
    Kernel:
    2.6.35.10-gc0a661b
    htc-kernel@and18-2 #1
    Tue Jun 14 23:58:32 CST 2011


 
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can we flash too much?
    By musicman625 in forum General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-06-2011, 06:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •